One of the main activities of IMHS is to document and preserve historical buildings in and around Indian Mills (such as Red Men’s Hall pictured above). We have an incredibly rich history, with this region being the original location of the Brotherton Indian Reservation. The Brotherton were part of the Lenape tribe. However, in the early 1800s, the Broterton tribe sold off their land to colonists and joined with the Munsee and Stockbridge Indian tribes of New York. The land was sold in 100 acre parcels to many families that remain prominent members of Shamong, Indian Mills, and neighboring communities.
Atsion Village is a historical site originally established by Charles Read in 1765 as an iron forge and later re-established by Samuel Richards, the son of the owner of the Batsto Furnace. A large home built by Richards, now known as the Atsion Mansion, became the summer residence of the Richards family. A small village developed around the iron furnace and Mansion and included a grist mill, three sawmills, a church, a school, a company store and several other homes. The Mansion, the school and several other buildings still survive. The Mansion is open for tours on weekends during the summer months. Atsion Village is located off Route 206.
An historic site in Indian Mills known as Red Men’s Hall was originally established as a Baptist Church. Later it became the meeting place of a men’s social and benevolent group known as The Improved Order of Red Men. Red Men’s Hall is located on Stokes Road.
Some other interesting historical sites in the area are the Gardner Home, home to a State Senator and Civil War veteran. Bedford Mills, the site of the grist and sawmill. Before it was rebuilt after a fire it had been the site of an Indian gristmill.
Grace Bible Baptist Church